750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
A frog in the kitchen
7 décembre 2011

Christmas cookies

Before moving to the USA I never had a sugar cookie covered with royal icing before. It sounds and look way to sweet for me and we don't have them in France anyway. Whereas in America you can find them everywhere for Christmas, Haloween, Easter.... every occasion as its cookie. I think it's a really American tradition. I'm not sure if they have those cookies here in Australia... Or at least I never saw them. I guess I'll find out by myself in the coming days...
I have to admit that although I wasn't really excited by tasting those cookies, I actually love them and they are not as sweet as they look. Which is a good point for me. I am now a big fan of sugar cookies :)
They are fun and easy to decorate, it's a good activity to do with kids during holidays.
So go for it!

DSC_0229 DSC_0230

Ingredients:
- 2 sticks butter
- 1 cup powdered sugar
- 1 egg, beaten
- 1 t. vanilla
- 1 t. salt
- 2 ½ cup flour

For the royal icing:
- 1 egg white
- 1 tsp lemon juice
- 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar


Cream the butter. Add powdered sugar. Add the egg, vanilla, salt and flour. Put the dough in the fridge for 30 min until firm. Roll to ¼” thickness on well-floured surface. Cut with cookie cutters. Place on greased cookie sheets. Bake at 180C for 8-10 min (take the cookies out of the oven before they brown)

Let the cookies cool and prepare the royal icing:

Beat the egg white with the lemon juice. Add the powdered sugar and beat untill combined and smooth. Add some food colouring if needed.

Decorate the cookies by covering them with he royal icing. You can add some sugar pearls or sugar snow flakes but do it before the icing gets hard, otherwise it won't stick to it.

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
S
Tu peux simplement utiliser sucre glace + jus de citron mais ce n'est plus un glaçage royal, le fini ne sera pas aussi "mat"
V
ils sont tout simplement magnifiques!!!!!<br /> à tout hasard, saurais tu comment réaliser le glaçage sans oeuf?
Publicité
A frog in the kitchen
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 23 164
Archives
Publicité