750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
A frog in the kitchen
13 décembre 2011

Clapboard birthday cake

Another birthday this week end! And this time one of my boyfriend's coworkers. So I wanted, once again, to bake something related to movies. It was my first time using fondant so I wanted to keep it simple. I choose to bake a clapboard cake : 2 vanilla cakes covered with chocolate frosting and black & white fondant, nothing really complicated. I had to "patch" some parts of the cake with the fondant and my hand writing is terrible... So the result is not as good as I was expecting. Next time I'll use something else than icing to write. And, as you can see on the pics, my kitchen was an absolute mess! But for a first time it's not that bad, I was pretty proud of myself and the cake did taste good so that's the most important, right?

I used a Smitten kitchen recipe for the cake base and, as I was running out of time (with other cakes to bake for another birthday), I couldn't make any chocolate frosting but I used some chocolate-hazelnut spread instead (aka Nutella).

 
photo 3
photo 2
photo

Ingredients (for a 9 x 13 inch cake):
- 8 1/4 cups cake flour (not self-rising)
  - 4 teaspoons (10 grams) baking powder
- 3 teaspoons baking soda
- 2 teaspoon (5 grams) table salt
- 4 sticks unsalted butter, softened
- 4 cups sugar
- 4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
- 8 large eggs, at room temperature
- 4 cups buttermilk
- 800g of Nutella (or some chocolate frosting)
- Black and white fondant

Preheat oven to 180C. Butter two 9 x 13-inch square cake pans and line with circles of parchment paper, then butter parchment.

Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a  extra large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, then add the vanilla. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in buttermilk until well combined. Add flour mixture in 4 batches, mixing until each addition is just Incorporated.

Spread batter evenly in cake pan, then rap pan on counter several times to eliminate air bubbles. Bake until golden and a wooden pick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Cool in pan on a rack 10 minutes, then run a knife around edge of pan. Invert onto rack and discard parchment, then cool completely, about 1 hour.

Cover the cake with some Nutella. Add the second cake on top of the first one. Cover with Nutella again. Cover with fondant.

 

Source : Smitten kitchen

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
0
Ur cake was not bad u tried. Welldone!
Publicité
A frog in the kitchen
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 23 166
Archives
Publicité